So far, Little Swag of Books has focused on the Australian books I’ve been reading this year. However, this blog is about Australian’s written words, not only novels. So I’ve decided to start a new section called “Writing Aussie”. Contrary to the belief of some, Australian English is pretty standard. Even so, I thought it would be fun to explore some Aussie colloquialisms.

Strike me pink – The Australian version of the English ‘fancy that’. Something unusual has happened, usually pleasant.

Strike me pink, he’s won the thing!

I’ve chosen to begin with ‘strike me pink’ because I’ve actually heard this phrase used before. Even so, come to Australia and start using that phrase and people will stare at you as if you’ve gone mad.

 

 

 

Definition taken from The Dinkum Aussie Dictionary, by Crooked Mick of the Speewa (aka Richard Beckett), illustrated by Brendan Akhurst.

First published 1986, Child & Associates Publishing

Image

 

