This will be my last post for the year, and what better way to finish off than with a good Aussie Christmas book?

Michael Salmon’s The Australian Twelve Days of Christmas was one of my favourite Christmas books as a kid, and for a long time I thought that this Aussie version of the 12DaysChrissyTwelve Days of Christmas was the version. I knew nothing about partridges in pear trees. For me, it was all about a Kookaburra in a gum tree. I used to read this book three or four times in one sitting, and not only at Christmas time, either.  I was never one for sticking to reading Christmas books only at Christmas.

The book even inspired me to make up my own version of the Australian Twelve Days of Christmas, which I proudly typed up on our brand-new computer (our first ever) and printed out on our trusty black and white printer. I can remember getting stuck for things to write about, because I didn’t want to copy Salmon and unfortunately he’d used up most of the Aussie animals. So I was stuck writing about beach balls and cricket bats.

But what I really loved about this book was the Aussie representation of Christmas: the beach, summer, the ocean, gum trees instead of pine trees- these are the things which characterise an Aussie Christmas. It is fun to read about white Christmases, but there is something nice about picking up a book and seeing a representation of what Christmas is really like in Australia. People who live in countries where Christmas falls in winter cannot imagine having Christmas in summer, but, for me, I can’t imagine having Christmas without hot weather, the cricket and summer holidays.

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas, and thank you to all my followers! I have some exciting new things planned for the blog in the New Year, so I’ll see you all in 2013.

Happy holiday reading!

 

Peter Antill-Rose & Associates Pty Ltd, first published 1988

 

