Happy New Year!

It’s a scorching 45 degrees Celsius (113F) where I am in Oz today, the cricket and tennis are on TV and I’m about to head to the beach to spend the evening there. It doesn’t get much mpetercareyore Australian than this.

I have therefore decided to announce the first book in the Little Swag Book Club I’ll be running on my blog this year. At the beginning of each month, I’ll announce that month’s book, and post about the previous month’s book. So please read along with me, and add your thoughts about the book to my posts. Any suggestions for books are also very welcome, so long as they’re written by Australian writers.

The book I have chosen for January is Peter Carey’s 2003 novel My Life as a Fake. Peter Carey is one of Australia’s most celebrated writers and I’m ashamed to say I’ve never read any of his books. So what better way to ring in the New Year than by immersing myself in the work of a great Aussie writer?

If you’re reading along, I plan to have my post about the book up in the first couple of days in February.

Happy reading!

