LB1

Late last year, I discovered a gem of the Australian literary scene. I can’t remember exactly how I found them, but I stumbled onto their website late one night and, looking through the content, I was intrigued enough to buy an issue of The Lifted Brow magazine. I soon discovered it was a magazine full of surprises, and well worth eleven (Australian) dollars.

The first surprise was that the magazine wasn’t exactly a magazine. Then again, maybe I’ve been brainwashed into thinking that magazines should be A4 and glossy. The Lifted Brow is neither. It is more like a newspaper. My second surprise was that Alice Pung, a well-known Australian author, had written a piece for this particular issue. I don’t know why was I surprised at that. I guess because I didn’t expect it, and I like it when I meet the unexpected. My third surprise was that the more I read, the more I loved it. I particularly enjoyed their arts lift out, Middlebrow. There are clearly some very talented writers and artists who have found themselves a home within The Lifted Brow, and thank goodness they have. It’s such a relief to have found a magazine which actually has something thought-provoking to say. And one which also doesn’t take itself too seriously. While The Lifted Brow is run out of Melbourne, the magazine accepts submissions from creative types all over the world, although a large majority are Australian.

My fourth, and I’m sure not final, surprise was that when I arrived home from a trip toLB2 the coast over the summer, I found a copy of The Lifted Brow’s latest edition, number 15, waiting for me. I had not yet ordered that copy. So a huge thank you to The Lifted Brow, for restoring my faith in Australian magazines, for giving me something interesting to read, some original comics to laugh at and some amazing artwork to admire. And thank you for sending me your latest issue. I’m already looking forward to the next one.

