…for whatever that means for you personally. It is a day which has different meanings for different people, and, much like other celebrations in Australia, different people have different traditions and ways of celebrating. For me, this year, I’ve spent the weekend catching up with old friends, making new friends, watching the tennis and cricket and enjoying the glorious weather. There was, of course, a BBQ somewhere in there too, and plenty of reading!

Which brings me to the Booktopia countdown to Australia’s Favourite Novelist. The results are in, and I was shocked and delighted to find that Kate Morton (a novelist I only discovered last year, who is now one of my favourites) topped the list, pipping favourite Tim Winton at the post! You can find the whole list of the top fifty here. So if you find yourself stuck and looking for a good Aussie read to sink your teeth into, that list is an excellent place to start.

And don’t forget January’s book club book is Peter Carey’s My Life as a Fake. You still have a few days to get reading!

